Play De Record


Coexist is the second studio album by English indie pop band the xx, released on 5 September 2012 by Young Turks. After a break from touring for their 2009 debut album xx, the band members began to write songs individually before they recorded Coexist from November 2011 to May 2012. For the album, the xx drew on personal experiences for their songwriting, while their music was influenced by the electronic dance scene that occurred when they had been away on tour. The album was produced by the band's Jamie xx, who had pursued electronic dance on other projects and developed as a DJ prior to the album. Coexist features a minimalist musical style with spatial arrangements, loose song structure, little dynamism, and experimentation with tension. Its songs are characterised by sparse elements such as simple chord progression, keyboard ostinatos, and fading motifs, while Jamie xx's production incorporates both programmed beats and live percussion instruments. Coexist touches on themes of heartbreak, loneliness, and intimacy. The lyrics, written by guitarist Romy Madley Croft and bassist Oliver Sim, address a failing relationship and changes in a romance with inner monologues and simple metaphors. Upon its release, Coexist received generally positive reviews from music critics and debuted at number one on the UK Albums Chart, selling 58,266 copies in its first week. The album also charted in the top 10 in several other countries and was promoted with four singles, including "Angels" and "Chained". During June to December 2012, the xx also toured in support of Coexist throughout Europe and North America.
Sorry, currently out of stock